Writing Habits

All writer’s have certain things they do repeatly when they sit down to write. They have certain habits that they have developed over the years that make what they do easier.

Ernest Hemingway, (according to an article at https://www.brainpickings.org/2012/11/20/daily-routines-writers/) who famously wrote standing (“Hemingway stands when he writes. He stands in a pair of his oversized loafers on the worn skin of a lesser kudu-the typewriter and the reading board chest-high opposite him”) approaches his craft with equal parts poeticism and pragmatism. He is quoted “When I am working on a book or a story I write every morning as soon after first light as possible. There is no one to disturb you and it is cool or cold and you come to your work and warm as you write. You read what you have written and, as you go on from there. You write until you come to a place where you still have your juice and know what will happen next and you stop and try to live through until the next day when you hit it again. You have started at six in the morning, say, and may go on until noon or be through before that. When you stop you are as empty, and at the same time never empty but filling, as when you have made love to someone yo love. Nothing ccan hurt you, nothing can happen, nothing means anything until the next day when you do it again. It is the wait until the next day that is hard to get through.”

Stephen King, (according to an article at http://www.bustle.com/articles/194001-the-daily-writing-habits-of-10-famous-authors) is quoted “There are certain things I do if I sit down to write…I have a glass of water or a cup of tea. There’s a certain time I sit down, from 8:00 to 8:30, somewhere within that half hour every morning. I have my vitamin pill and my music, sit in tha same seat, and the papers are all arranged in the same places. The cumulative purpose of doing these things the same way every day seems to be a way of saying to the mind, you’re going to be dreaming soon. It’s not any different than a bedtime routine.”

I’ve used these two author’s as an example as they are two of my favorite’s. Every author has a routine/habit when it comes to their writing. Here is mine…

​I would love to be able to write in the early morning when the world is either still asleep or just barely rising. To sit at my desk in front of a large window that faces out to nothing but beautiful views. With the smell of fresh crisp air gently blowing through the window, as I sip on a cup of hot coffee with a cigarette burning in the ash tray. Typing away at the keyboard of my computer, occasionally looking up to look out the window then back at the computer. To be able to write till there is nothing left to write for the day.

This would be ideal if only I didn’t have to work a day job.

But I do have to work. I am not so famous that I can just write. So I write when I can. Most often I do not write at all. I sometimes will go weeks without writing a word. Other times I will be on point and will not want to stop writing at all! But I must. Only because of a day job.

When I do write my habits are pretty close to my dream, yet not.

I have to schedule time to write. I work from five am till two pm. I get home from work around 2:30. I shower, dress in comfy clothes, sit down at my non writing desk to go over my schedule for the rest of the day. I try to start writing at four so that I can write for at least an hour before starting dinner. It does not matter how many words I write, though I do have goals, it only matters that I write for that hour.

I prepare myself before I sit down to write. I make sure I have all my notes close at hand, I have a dictionary near, I have a cup of coffee, computer is turned on and manuscript is open to where I left off. I cannot write in complete silence so I tend to listen to music to have a sort of ‘white noise’ in the background. I read the last page I wrote and go from there.

For now this is the only way I know to write. One day, I will be able to write how I dream I can. One day I will not have to worry about a day job, just writing the next novel.

Do you have any habits/a routine for when you write? I would love to hear from you.

I would love to hear your comments and or questions you might have. Seriously, ask away! Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook and or Instagram!

Leave a Reply

